Boards/Commissions/Committees  2015

Planning Commission – set by City Charter and selected by the City Council, reviews planning issues and provides guidance to Council; meets the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Municipal Building-Council Chambers Four Year Terms.

Gary Boyle, Chair

Russ Critelli

Kenneth Pachasa

Robert Howell

Tom Solet


1-28-15 cancelled

2-25-15 cancelled




Design Review Sub-Committee – works under the direction of the Planning Commission meets the first Thursday of the month at 8:00am. in the conference room at the Municipal Building and as needed within meetings of the Planning Commission.

Gary Boyle, Chair

Robert Howell, Vice Chair

Kenneth Pachasa, Secretary




3-5-15 Cancelled



Board of Building and Zoning Appeals - set by City Charter and selected by the City Council, review building and zoning changes and provides guidance to Council; meets the second Monday of the month at 7:30 p.m. in the Municipal Building-Council Chambers.

Tom Sprunk, Chair

Larry Braidech

Jack Erne

Frank Kath

Jim Shaffer




3-9-15 Cancelled

4-13-15 Cancelled


City Council Finance Committee – 3 council members appointed by the Mayor & citizen members; oversees the finance status of the city and recommends spending habits and revenue streams to the administration.  Meets Quarterly and as needed.

Sam Artino

Phyllis Wassner

Trey Hardy

Chuck Norton, Chair

Larry Leaman

Dawn Jacobs

Chuck Thompson







City Council Safety Committee – 3 council members appointed by the Mayor to discuss and evaluate safety issues in the City.  Meets Quarterly and as needed.

Sam Artino

Rodney Kilbury

Rick Schaffter, Chair


3-10-15 Cancelled





Huron Joint Recreation District Board – Appointed by the Mayor with Council approval and established by Ordinance; the board helps make policy for the activities of the Huron Joint Recreation District and City of Huron; meets the first Tuesday of each month January-May and Sept.-Dec at 6:30p.m. in the Boat Basin facility.

Tim Golling, Chair

Tom Solberg Jr.

Chuck Thompson

Rene Franklin

Don Ritzenthaler

Jennifer Kilbury

David Dreffer

Eric Muehlhauser

Trey Hardy


1-6-15 Cancelled






City Council Economic Development Committee - 3 council members plus any other interested individuals appointed by the Mayor; to plan the economic develop the community and help execute those plans. 

Rick Schaffter

Tom Solet

Brad Hartung

Tim Parkinson

Joe Dike

Duane Stierhoff

Anne Hinton


Huron Joint Port Authority – Appointed by the Mayor with Council approval and set up by Ordinance; established jointly with Huron Township and directs port activities, with powers set forth in the Ohio Constitution and meets as needed.

Tom Solberg, Sr., Chair

Robert Lieblein

Bob Williams (J)

Robert Morris

Bob Barnes

Rob Moore

Trey Hardy


Income Tax Board of Review – Appointed by the Mayor with Council approval and set up by Ordinance; established to hear appeals regarding income tax issues and meets as needed.

Pat Deville

Rhonda Watt

James Carnal


Huron Rescue Squad Trust Fund - Oversees the spending of the Rescue Squad Fund, meets annuallyand/or as needed. to review yearly budgets and expenses

Andy White

Bob Boos

Brad Hartung


Personnel Appeals Board - Reviews personnel appeals to actions, and meets as needed.

Pat Deville

Ann Hinton

Bob Kelsey


Erie County Council of Governments - Meeting are held on the "5th Monday months."

Sam Artino (P)

Rick Schaffter (A)


Coastal Resources Advisory Council                         

Jack Arthur


Erie County Board of Health                                     

Nancy Thornhill


Medical Director                                                          

Dr. Patrick Tupa


Scott Cemetery Board                                                 

Rodney Kilbury


Volunteer Firefighter Dependents Fund                   

Brad Hartung

Tom Solet


Enterprise Zone Committee                                        

Brad Hartung (P)

Trey Hardy (A)


County MPO Committee                                            

Brad Hartung (P)

Sam Artino (A)


Huron Chamber of Commerce - Council's representative to the City's Chamber to act as the liaison between the functions; meets every 3rd Wednesday at 7:30 a.m..

Phyllis Wassner


AMP-Ohio Environmental Stewardship Committee - Reviews the stewardship priniciples and discusses ways to measure community and AMP-Ohio progress toward meeting them; meets quarterly as needed.

Rodney Kilbury

Sewer Monitorning Advisory Committee   (Members established per agreement)                                      

Brad Hartung

Andy White

Laura Alkire

Cathy Ramey

Trey Hardy


Tax Incentive Negotiating Review Committee                              

Brad Hartung (P)

Dawn Jacobs

Trey Hardy (A)


Would you like to serve on a board or commission?
The Mayor is responsible for appointing City of Huron residents to the various boards and commissions that report to the City Council.  Many residents have volunteered to serve their community by taking a seat on the Personnel Appeals Board, Planning Commission, Huron Joint Recreation District, and many others.  If you are interested in learning more about how you can serve in one of these very important capacities, please contact Mayor Hartung via the Clerk of Council at (419) 433-5000  ext 103. Completed application is required.  Board/Commission Application.  Appointments are made annually in December.

Mayor Hartung